All hail seitan!

Seitan burger

Seitan burger

A while back I made my first batch of seitan ever. I used the Post Punk Kitchen recipe which was really tasty, though I did find the flavour a bit too strong, so I think next time I’ll use less soy.

Now, it’s not pretty, at least mine wasn’t, but it did taste mighty good on a burger!

It also grew a lot bigger then I was expecting, so next time instead of trying to cook it in pattie-sized pieces, I’ll try doing it as one big log and then slice it up later.

I also sliced some up quite thinly and fried it to use in salads, wraps etc, which was also really good. It made quite a bit so I froze the rest, and it’s kept well. Some is currently defrosting to put on the bbq.

Seitan strips

Seitan strips

One thought on “All hail seitan!

  1. Pingback: A Vegan Xmas BBQ | Veggie in the Kitchen

Leave a comment